Pregnancy week by week.

Pregnancy Week by Week- Week 23

We finally get Jack-man this week! And we can finally reveal what these two little bears are! Usually when we have Jack we take him out somewhere to go for a hike, or fishing or somewhere to look for deer and experience the wilderness as that is a huge part of our life and we love to share it with him.

We decided to take him out by Rocky Mountain House for a walk and let him be a part of our reveal. It definitely took some time for us to come up with a good idea, as our plans kept having to be changed as we were unable to do them.  Our first plan was to use tannerite (a type of explosive you can buy at any hunting store) and coloured chalk but we were unable to do that on short notice and we didn’t have any of our guns with us (we are redneck, I know). We then came up with the idea to fill balloons with paint and have Jack to use the pellet gun to pop them… but then we forgot to grab the pellet gun when we were going to pick him up, so we then had to revise our plans slightly again.

In the end, we used water balloons filled with paint and having Jack break them open on the ground! We hadn’t told him what they were yet so he was pretty awestruck by the results! I filmed the reveal and we were able to show all our friends and family that we were having a little boy (Twin A) AND a little girl (Twin B)!! I am not able to upload a video to this page I don’t think, but if you are on instagram you can watch the video at Wynnewithtwins!

We are very excited to be having one of each, and cannot wait to see the bond between them! Having a little brother and a little sister is exactly what Jack had asked for!

Screen Shot 2017-08-02 at 12.55.51 PM

This weekend is the May long weekend, and the last weekend I am in Alberta as I have to fly home for my cousins wedding next week. I have some friends that live in Caroline Alberta that invited Sam and I down to spend our last weekend together in the mountains. If you have never been out to Caroline/Sundre area or are ever in Alberta I highly suggest you make that area part of your trip! We ended up going for a drive to the Ya Ha Tinda National Park, which is right in the mountains. We saw countless wild horses, mountain mule deer, and a few bear and that was just driving around. Once at the Ya Ha we hiked up to the waterfall at the Ya Ha and around the park a little bit.  We both agreed that we will be making a few trips out to the Ya Ha in the future once the kids are here to camp in our trailer. There is tons to do at the park for all kinds of people, you can either do the walking trails, swim in the mountain streams and bring the horses and dogs.

Screen Shot 2017-08-02 at 1.03.47 PMScreen Shot 2017-08-02 at 1.03.58 PM

Baby Development

Now over 1 pound, the twins lungs are starting to develop more already although they are the last to mature.

The twins’ senses are also starting to get stronger, they can feel how I move, if I ride or dance, and they can start to hear louder noises.

With twins, the twin that is positioned lower is considered twin A (in my case the boy) and the one that is positioned higher is twin B.  This allows them to track their development over time especially for same gender twins. Twin A is the most likely to be born first, twin B second.

Early on the doctors have been watching the positioning of the babies like a hawk. They want to make sure they know placental placement, and ensure that the amniotic sacs (especially twin B’s) do not block my cervix. If this happens, they may need to do a c section because it could prevent a smooth delivery.  As far as what I was told is that if both of the sacs are positioned appropriately by around this point they are very unlikely to drop in an unfavourable position. If they are in an ideal position they will stay as such.   Both of my twin placentas are posterior, meaning they are between my back and the baby, which is ideal. Some people may have an anterior placenta (between your front and the baby) which can reduce visibility by ultrasound, and make it harder to feel fetal movements. Anterior placentas can happen in all types of pregnancies.

 Weight Gain

Since I have been out here I actually have not weighed myself, but I am noticing the twin bump getting bigger!

Screen Shot 2017-08-02 at 1.04.10 PMScreen Shot 2017-08-02 at 1.04.23 PM

How am I feeling?

I am still waking up through the night and unable to get back to sleep. I also get extremely tired through the day sometimes and end up needing a cat nap for about 45 minutes to reboot.

My ribs are hurting me pretty consistently still, where I have to push my fist into my back and lean on it.

Thoughts

Really sad I am leaving Alberta in a few days, but also missing home life and my animals. I know I complain I miss wherever I am not, but I think that’s pretty much human nature isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

